Aliya – Almost 4 Weeks In

BH, all is well here. It is impossible to overstate the kindness of HaShem in every way.

The land is very, very good.

Yesterday, my wife and I were finally able to head to Yerushalyim. Door to Kotel in 45 minutes – Hayinu k’cholmim – We were like dreamers.

BH, RBS A is very nice. Lots of very cool, aspirational people willing and wanting to help – and a person needs lots of that. Good places to pray and learn. And finding the cheap places to shop (key here – things are, in general, more expensive than the states).

BH, all the kids are in school, and really enjoying it. A tremendous chesed. I am really proud of each of them.

BH, we’ve already experienced a bit of “holeh hadash” – and made it through – so far, chick-chock. Likely a function of being in RBS A where the merchants have discovered that good customer service does, in fact, increase the bottom line (as does honesty).

And in terms of End of Days. . . tensions between Russia and America increase. Given the parsha last week, it makes sense.

B’emet, once a person is here in Israel one loses the desire to catch up on news – after all, those who desire the land no longer have to be satisfied with phone calls to their few friends here and the “media lens”. But rather, ones entire life and being is connected to the land.

I pray every day that my family should have the continued ability to stay in the land. I deeply appreciate all of this blog’s readers’ prayers and blessings, and pray that all of you should have the ability to come to the land standing straight.

11 Responses to Aliya – Almost 4 Weeks In

  1. Baruch Hashem says:

    I pray that you should have a good landlord. RBS A is sometimes also known as the other little Jewish country outside Israel. 🙂

  2. Baruch Hashem says:

    I pray that you should have a good landlord, they either make it or break it for many olim families.

    RBS Alef is also sometimes known as the other little Jewish country outside Israel. 🙂 You haven’t yet lived in Israel until you integrate, and RBS A doesn’t qualify because it is an Anglo hub “safe” community.

    • jewishendofdays says:

      The last time I checked, RBS A IS in Israel – Still can’t read my bills, still can’t get the appliance service to come, many of my kids teachers d/n speak English, etc.

      I wouldn’t tell a Mexican who moves to the hispanic community that they’re still in Mexico. Likewise, we’re not in Kansas anymore.

      That said, BH, I am starting a business with a group of non-relgious Israeli’s so I get plenty of interaction on that basis.

      I appreciate your comments – keep them coming. And, yes, I have a great landlord, BH.

  3. Neshama says:

    Wishing you continued uplifting experiences. Yes I too felt a sudden change in my need to hear and read about Eretz Yisrael once we were Home, living on the Land. My days are filled with wonderment at the simple beauty of sunshine, changing skies, birds, cats, trees, stones and people. The inner feeling of peace just being here. Yes there are hurdles, but with the right attitude they are dissolved or subsumed. And when they come your way, take a deep breath and realize they are lovingly brought to you for your continued spiritual growth. Let us read more of your experiences.

  4. Neshama says:

    Have you given thought to the Russian-Putin upset on Parshas Vayishlach? Any comments?

  5. Ben says:

    Welcome to Eretz Yisroel!

    Regarding prices. Certainly one can live in Eretz Yisroel cheaper than in the uSA. As someone who has merited to live here for many years – lots of things here are less expensive than in the USA, including lots of food products and tuition. Rent – depending where one lives. But “consumer items, (which we can often choose to do without)”, are sometimes more expensive.

    May you and your family have a very good yishuv.

  6. Wow, I am very pleased to have found this site. You seem very connected and blessed by God. My prayers will also go out to you while in the holy land. I’m glad to have found your site and pray for you and our mission to bring Truth to the people. Please feel free to check out my site, it is http://www.endtimesbooks.com. I try to offer themost accurate and informative end times books and media at the cheapest prices possible. God bless you. Let me know of any great selections and I will research and try to get a good wholesale price and let you know.

  7. leah says:

    Yasher koach on making the move to Israel. I know you will not only live – you will thrive. Your positive attitude is contagious and so it should be! Every part of Israel is Israel. Would I walk into a dangerous territory? No, yet is still Israel.All jewish neighborhoods are jewish no matter the language spoke or the “type” of neighborhood.

  8. Bat Aliyah says:

    Regarding cheaper food, we’ve been here almost 18 months and I have found that, in the Jerusalem area, the cheapest groceries are at Rami Levi, Shaare Ezra (a charedi store on Yirmiyahu) and Osher Ad (a charedi store just outside of Har Nof). Also, the shuk has great produce, but it’s often cheaper at Rami Levi for the basics (onions, potatoes, carrots, etc.) Like most families, we tend to buy the same things over and over and I have begun to know what a decent price is for these things. That feels great.

    We have family in RBS-A and I was shocked by how expensive the food is at Best Market compared to what I’m used to paying.

Leave a Reply

